From Leaders to Achievers

JSW Sports wins the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar

Leading the Champions to the Podium

India is a nation of aspiring athletes who have everything it takes to reach greater heights. What they lack, however, is meticulous funding, high-class training gear, necessary equipment and exposure. This is why JSW Foundation decided to launch a new Sports Excellence Program through its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) project in 2012. As a part of this programme, the organisation has been able to back Indian athletes, some of whom have won medals at the 2018 Asian Games.

Today, we are proud to say that all our efforts and hard work has been recognised by the country as JSW Sports has been presented with the most prestigious Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar. This has given us the determination to strive harder and make India one of the top 10 sporting nations by 2024.

Our Shining Stars

Neeraj Chopra

Neeraj Chopra became the first Indian to win a gold medal in the javelin throw at the Asian Games. He dominated the competition with a mammoth 88.06m throw, setting a new national record. The 20-year-old has been bestowed with the Arjuna Award for his outstanding performance. Neeraj is the second Indian track and field athlete, joining the league of legend Milkha Singh, to win back-to-back gold medals in the Commonwealth and Asian Games in the same year.

Satish Kumar

Satish Kumar is a 29-year-old super heavyweight boxer and the winner of the prestigious Arjuna Award. He has been involved in the boxing circuit for a few years now. He brought home a silver medal at the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in 2018 and a bronze at the Asian Games in 2014.

Jiwan Sharma

Jiwan Sharma, one of the most recognised faces in Indian judo, is the winner of the Dronacharya Award. Over the past 20 years, he has played an instrumental role in encouraging and supporting aspiring candidates like Garima Chaudhary and helping them achieve their goals. Today, Jiwan is an integral part of the judo program at the Inspire Institute of Sport in Vijayanagar, where he trains Indian athletes to strive for perfection.

about us block 2about us block 2

We've tried to incorporate global best practices at IIS, and we continue to follow what's happening around the world so that we can incorporate that into our training programmes. 

Mustafa Ghouse
CEO, JSW Sports
Mustafa Ghouse
CEO, JSW Sports

We've tried to incorporate global best practices at IIS, and we continue to follow what's happening around the world so that we can incorporate that into our training programmes. 

A Celebrated Committee

This year, a large number of nominations were received for each category of awards. The winners were evaluated by the selection committees consisting of former Olympians, Arjuna awardees, Dronacharya awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees and Sport journalists/ experts/ commentators and sports administrators. Selection committee for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice (Ms.) Indermeet Kaur Kochhar (Former Judge of the Delhi High Court), while the selection committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Justice Mr. Mukul Mudgal (Former Chief Justice of Punjab & Haryana High Court). The selection committee for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Shri Rahul Bhatnagar, Secretary (Sports), while the selection committee for the MAKA Trophy was headed by Shri Ashok Kumar, former Olympian.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2018
Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
Ms. S. Mirabai ChanuWeightlifting
Shri Virat KohliCricket
Dronacharya Awards 2018
Name of the CoachDiscipline
Subedar Chenanda Achaiah KuttappaBoxing
Shri Vijay SharmaWeightlifting
Shri A. Srinivasa RaoTable Tennis
ShriSukhdev Singh PannuAthletics
Shri Clarence LoboHockey (Life Time)
Shri Tarak SinhaCricket (Life Time)
Shri Jiwan Kumar SharmaJudo (Life Time)
Shri V.R. BeeduAthletics (Life Time)
Arjuna Awards 2018
Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
Shri Neeraj ChopraAthletics
Naib Subedar Jinson JohnsonAthletics
Ms. Hima DasAthletics
Ms. Nelakurthi Sikki ReddyBadminton
Subedar Satish KumarBoxing
Ms. Smriti MandhanaCricket
Shri Shubhankar SharmaGolf
Shri Manpreet SinghHockey
Shri Manpreet SinghHockey
Ms. SavitaHockey
Col. Ravi RathorePolo
Ms. Rahi SarnobatShooting
Shri Ankur MittalShooting
Ms. Shreyasi SinghShooting
Ms. Manika BatraTable Tennis
Shri G. SathiyanTable Tennis
Shri Rohan BopannaTennis
Shri SumitWrestling
Ms. Pooja KadianWushu
Shri Manoj SarkarPara-Badminton
Dhyan Chand Award 2018
Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
Shri Satyadev PrasadArchery
Shri Bharat Kumar ChetriHockey
Ms. Bobby AloysiusAthletics
ShriSukhdev Singh PannuAthletics
Shri Chougale Dadu DattatrayWrestling
Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2018
CategoryName of the Entity
Identification and Nurturing of Budding & Young TalentRashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited
Encouragement to Sports through Corporate Social ResponsibilityJSW Sports
Sports for DevelopmentIsha Outreach
CategoryName of the Entity
Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2017-18Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar